PDA

View Full Version : Need to buy a gun to find out if you can own one?

osallent
March 15, 2011, 09:17 PM
I was shopping for supplies for my new shotgun today at a local dealership when a man walked through the door and explained to the gun dealer that he had a restraining order issued 18 years before when his wife divorced him, and that the restraining order had expired many years ago, but other than that he had a clean record and wanted to know if he could buy a gun.

The dealer told the man that the local police no longer did these checks, and the only way for him to find out if he could own a gun was to buy one and see if he passed the background check, but he would risk paying for a gun he may or may not be able to own.

I was enraged at what I was listening for two reasons:

1) Is it true that if a restraining order is expired, you still can never own a gun? That doesn't seem right, and if it is, it seems messed up. I'm studying law, and I know for a fact that some family law lawyers tell the women to get a temporary restraining order because it will help the case, even if they have no reason to fear anything. And temporary restraining orders are handed out like candy without proof of anything.

2) It seemed hypocritical for this dealer to tell the man he couldn't run a simple $5 background check for him unless he bought a firearm that he may/or may not be able to take home. So what the dealer was basically saying was this: "Buy the gun, and if you don't qualify, I keep the money and the weapon since I have a no return policy." He didn't quite say it like that, but you get the point. Very immoral if you ask me.

I almost butted in to tell the man to get a lawyer and go buy a gun somewhere else than with this con-artist who calls himself a dealer, but decided instead not to cause a scene and left the store and went to another guns store instead to buy the supplies I needed.

Any thoughts on any of the two things above?

Kodyo
March 15, 2011, 09:24 PM