PDA

View Full Version : good choices for first AR15?

cit1911
February 1, 2011, 07:40 PM
I am looking at getting my first ar15, and have a limited budget because I'm a starving student :). I have about $700, and am looking at doublestar and DPMS rifles. I don't shoot more than once a month, and i intend on beating this gun into the ground, and buying a higher end rifle later. Recommendations? Should I save up, and get chrome lined?

mc223
February 1, 2011, 07:49 PM
How about a used rifle for the first and the just upgrade as funds become available.
I have picked up a couple nice ARs out of the local paper for around 4 to 500 bucks. Granted there are not as many as there have been in the past. Also pawn shops do occasionally get an AR in. Pays to get to know the owner in some cases.
Or just go blow your 700 bucks and upgrade later.

espnazi
February 1, 2011, 07:54 PM
You could always build a lower and the just buy the upper. I would Skip DPMS/Oly/Double Star and go for something better. Perhaps a Daniel Defense or BCM upper with the lower of your liking.

cit1911
February 1, 2011, 08:11 PM
I have looked at buying the lower and the upper seperate. seems like a good deal.
because I am new to this, can anyone help me with the real advantaged to going chrome lined of having a chrome BCG? I am willing to wait and save if it is worth it?

mc223
February 1, 2011, 08:31 PM
I would say definitely go for the chrome lined barrel and chrome lined BCG.but not a chrome bolt and carrier. Unless you just feel you must. The lined parts and barrel will save cleaning time and add to the reliability of the rifle. Not to mention the chrome lined barrels last longer.

I agree totally with espnazi on skip the junk DPMS/OLY/Doublestar. And with Bushmaster and Remington having the same corporate owner, well they are the same as the aforementioned.

tacticalmedic
February 1, 2011, 08:35 PM
Check out Del-Ton. I got one on a trade and I love it. You can get a "Kit" from them for around $600.