PDA

View Full Version : "Quote" button...


razo
December 30, 2010, 03:30 PM
never gonna live this down, but where is it?

Thanks,
razo

Wag
December 30, 2010, 03:35 PM
I've been wondering the same thing.

Also, a multi-quote button.

--Wag--

Al Norris
December 30, 2010, 03:49 PM
The short and to the point answer is that members used no discretion in quoting. That is, they quote the entire text of long posts, just to make an answer to only one point of the quoted text.

In other words, the function was abused. Because of that, we have removed the buttons, but the function remains. It has to be manually used.

How do you do that?

Read this thread: How Do I Quote From A Post? (http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=323215)

It's up in the "stickies" at the top of the index for this section of TFL.

Mal H
December 30, 2010, 03:51 PM
I assume you mean the "Post with quote" button that is found in each post - at other websites.

We discontinued that button years ago here at TFL. The thread above in this forum explains in detail how to quote from a post: http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=323215


[Edit]
Al beat me to it! :)

Wag
December 30, 2010, 08:44 PM
Makes sense. One of those double-edged swords in any forum!

Thanks!

--Wag--