PDA

View Full Version : chokes??


Hog Hunter
December 23, 2010, 02:32 PM
Just getting into duck hunting this year and was told that if i shoot anything tighter than a modified choke then I need to buy a choke for steel shot. I went an bought a couple for steel just for the heck of it but I am still wonderin if this is true??

rantingredneck
December 23, 2010, 02:37 PM
Yes it is true.

A choke intended for lead shot that is marked "Full" is too tight for steel shot unless it is also marked for steel. Steel doesn't compress like lead as it's being squeezed through the constriction of the choke. It can create a dangerous overpressure situation that can damage your barrel if you use a choke that is too tight.

Hog Hunter
December 23, 2010, 02:41 PM
Ok. I was just making sure. I just went an bought a full thats for lead and steel and ran a few rounds through it. Everything seemed alright and shot a good pattern. Thanks ranting