PDA

View Full Version : Building my first AR-15.

DiverDwn
October 27, 2010, 09:02 PM
You know I'm new to this because I didn't just call it an AR.

I bought a lower receiver when Aim Surplus had a good sale going. It is stripped. So first I need a parts kit. Midway has one on sale. Is DPMS a good brand for a lower parts kit?

Now I understand that it's hard to get an opinion out of people, especially about guns. And especially on the internet, but please try.

If someone here has some parts they will part with I would be interested, but mainly I'd like some direction on where to get good deals on quality equipment from a friendly place.

Ideally I really like the look of the old Viet Nam era M-16. The triangle shoulder thing that goes up and the solid-esque butt. You can't buttstroke a man with an adjustable plastic butt.

Any help is appreciated.

And please dont make fun of me for saying, "You can't buttstroke a man with an adjustable plastic butt." That didn't come out right. I meant to say I like a big, solid butt.

Oh hell.

DnPRK
October 27, 2010, 10:48 PM
The DPMS kit will give you a serviceable trigger group, but the trigger pull might be stiff depending on the engagement between the hammer notch and trigger nose.

The problem with building a retro AR is finding a real A1 buttstock that isn't trashed. But Cavalryarms.com makes a close replica.

Also be aware the A1 barrel twist rate only stabilizes 55 grain (or less) bullets. Surplus 62 grain (or more) bullets will likely fly downrange sideways.

But if you find the parts to assemble a retro A1, they are a blast to shoot. I enjoy shooting my retro AR because it reminds me of an SP1 I owned 25 years ago.

DiverDwn
October 27, 2010, 11:44 PM
Do you have a recommendation for a brand name and what I should expect to pay?

Also, thanks for the info. I think I followed. Is there a reason I can't get a triangular barrel shroud to look retro over a new barrel?

NWPilgrim
October 28, 2010, 01:47 AM