PDA

View Full Version : Garand Windage Question


overland
September 9, 2010, 08:57 AM
The windage adjustment not working properly on my CMP Garand. When I turn the dial, there is no movement of the aperture. According to the manual, you have to turn the screw in the windage dial to increase tension but that had no effect. Any ideas as to what the problem is? Thanks.

P5 Guy
September 9, 2010, 10:24 AM
Is this a new from the CMP rifle?
Is the sight all crud up with dried grease?
This is where I would start www.odcmp.com. They have all the info one needs to make M1 Rifles work as they should

nbkky71
September 9, 2010, 11:19 AM
Do you have a lockbar sight? If so, you need to loosen the lockbar first in order to make windage changes.

If you have a T105E1 sight, it's possible that the lock nut in the windage knob is broken and it will not hold tension. If that's the case, simply replace the windage knob.