PDA

View Full Version : M1 Garand questions

Arondos
September 1, 2010, 01:51 AM
I'll start by saying I am by no means a long gun expert. Mainly shot .22 LR. Not much rifle shooting back in Ohio where I am originally from.

Guy I know has an M1. Told me it was a WWII rifle. Original etc. he wants $1500 for the gun, bayonet, and 600 rounds. Not sure what one is worth.

Finally got a look at it tonight. What I found so far. It has been shot but is in great shape. Found a tool in the stock, copper bore brush on a pivoting mount, has a second pivot (M3A1 cleaning tool?).

Wood has a few very small imperfections small dimples you have to get close and look for, basically no wear. Haven't seen the bayonet yet but I am told it is original.

On the receiver

U.S. Rifle
Cal 30M1
Springfield
Armory
3220717 (I believe this puts it around Oct 1944?)

The bolt is stamped
Z-3-A
6528287-SA

Trigger Housing is stamped
46025WRA

az_imuth
September 1, 2010, 05:48 AM
I'm no expert either, but if the rifle is a SA and the trigger guard is a WRA (Winchester), then the rifle is not original. The ammo is probably worth around $250 if it's of good quality. The bayonet could be worth between $100-$150 for the average 10" type or $250 and up for the 16" style.

Keep in mind that a nice service grade from CMP is $600, so if this one is an equivalent rifle you'd be paying $900 for the ammo and bayonet. Seems pretty steep to me. If you know someone in the area that is knowledgeable on Garands, you might ask them to take a look at it for you. There are just a lot of variables that factor into the equation, including the possibility of a welded receiver.

big_bad_kitty
September 1, 2010, 06:48 AM