PDA

View Full Version : help me build my AR-15

champ198
July 1, 2010, 09:24 AM
ok ill throw this out there...im wanting to build an AR from scratch...so im askin for some help from you all black rifle fans...help me build one.
it will mainly be used just for target shooting and thats really about it
i am very new to the AR stuff and trying to learn as much as i can with watching vids online and reading anything i can find about them...but there is so much stuff out there that its almost mind boggling and gets confusing some times
what i would like...rifle that will handle longer ranges...300-400 yards max really.....free floated barrel..flat top for mounting scoped optics
what i have on my parts list so far is
Spikes lower
DPMS parts kit
24" fluted 1:12 twist DPMS stainless barrel
Panther style grip
6 position colapsable stock
yankee hill rifle length quad rail forend
DPMS upper parts kit
DPMS Upper reciever A2 Flattop

What else am i gonna need?

champ198
July 1, 2010, 09:41 AM
almost forgot.........want to go as cheap as possible...but not junk parts either........kind of an oxymoron i know but what im wantin to do ;)

thesheepdog
July 1, 2010, 09:58 AM
Here's the parts you will need:

Barrel
Upper and lower
Bolt carrier group
Gas block
gas tube
gas tube roll pin
Forend-free float handguard with a barrel nut
flash hider (if your barrel is threaded)

demigod
July 1, 2010, 10:37 AM
For 3-400 yards, you could really get away with a barrel as short as 14.5". A 16" mid length might give you a lot more versatility.

I wouldn't go with a 1/12 twist because that leaves you stuck using lighter bullets. If you want to shoot varmint grenades mostly then go for it.

A 1/8 or 1/7 will allow you to shoot 55gr thru 77gr. Some of those heavier bullets can really be accurate.

champ198
July 1, 2010, 11:01 AM
ok thanks Demi...i thought it was the other way around for the heavier bullets needed more twist

thesheepdog
July 1, 2010, 11:16 AM