PDA

View Full Version : Romanian ak 47 barrel help


daytooday
April 14, 2010, 05:08 PM
New to gun builds. I have a romanian kit but had to order a barrel the one they sent doesn't have a place for the pin that goes through the front trunion. Is there anything else i can do or do I need to get a new barrel that has the cut out for the pin.

thanks in advance

Dfariswheel
April 14, 2010, 09:37 PM
The reason it has no cut for the pin is so you can set the head space on the barrel before the cut is made.

Most of the older AK kits came with the original barrel and trunnion.
On those, all you had to do was press the barrel in until the cut in the barrel lined up with the hole.
Since the ATF stopped imports of kits with original barrels, the barrels are not the original and are not fitted to that trunnion. You have to fit them.

On the AK rifles, the head space is set by using a head space gage set and pressing the barrel in until the head space is correct. Then the cut is made by using a drill to carefully drill through the pin hole, which cuts the groove in the barrel.

In other words, you have an un-head spaced barrel that's never been properly fitted to that barrel trunnion.
You have to head space it to make it safe to fire.

Do a Google search. There's several sites out there that show how to use head space gages to set the head space on an AK build.

mapsjanhere
April 15, 2010, 08:04 AM
To add to that, just in case it isn't clear. Correct head space is a safety critical item, you get it wrong, you either have a non-functional gun with a useless barrel (best case) or a deathtrap where an overly large head space might lead to blown cases. If dfariswheel's post didn't trigger a "doh" moment, take it to someone who knows what they're doing.

famine
April 20, 2010, 12:30 PM
There are oversized barrel pins available for this also. It allows you to use the hole in the trunion as a guide vs. trying to drill the same sized hole through the curve of the barrel