PDA

View Full Version : Garand experts - can you diagnose this problem?

GJJ
February 13, 2010, 11:23 PM
I have the following problem all of a sudden with my M1 Garand.

I press down on the clip as I am loading it into my rifle. The bolt releases. But, it does not go forward because I am still applying pressure to the clip (as expected). When I release pressure on the clip, it moves forward as if it is going to load the round. Still, so far so good. I attempt to bump the op rod forward as most M1s require. But, the bolt appears to be stuck on the clip unable to load the first round. If I pull back on the op rod, the clip moves up slighly and when I release the op rod, the rifle loads the round. It does this 25% of the time.

I am not an expert on the functioning of the Garand. But, I think the timing is off. I could be wrong. It is like the clip is going in too far. I have replaced the op rod spring and the follower arm. No improvement.

The rounds are all even in the clip and I am putting pressure directly in the middle of the clip. The only other thing I would add is that every once in a while the clip is even tough to get into the gun.

Any opinions on what could cause this and what it takes to fix it?

Thanks.

Satanic Toaster
February 13, 2010, 11:25 PM
Are you using GI clips or new production?

GJJ
February 14, 2010, 12:41 AM
GI. Round on right side of clip.

TheManHimself
February 14, 2010, 01:24 AM
Does it do it with every clip or just some of them? The clips are thin metal and susceptible to warping and bending.

JR_Roosa
February 14, 2010, 03:29 AM
GI, like HXP GI or Springfield Armory GI?

The HXP clips stink. Too much parkerizing and they aren't quite the right size.

Go through a bunch and find a few that work, or get your hands on some old US manufactured clips and it might help.

Otherwise there might be a mechanical problem with the rifle.