PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 upper and lower wobble fix question

epic4444
February 9, 2010, 01:48 AM
Hey, thanks for looking, so i just finished two AR builds, one with a Mega Lower with a LMT upper, rock solid fit. The next was a Mega Lower and Noveske upper, not nearly as solid, there some wobble or slope between upper and lower. Ive read online that people use #7 o-rings to fix this, anyone have a video or tutorial on how to? or even some pictures would be awesome since im confused about where the ring goes. Thanks

NSO_w/_SIG
February 9, 2010, 06:14 AM
Why worry about it unless it is malfunctioning? "Wooble" has no affect on accuracy.

jmr40
February 9, 2010, 08:45 AM
Try installing an accuwedge. Midway sells them for around $4. It is a rubber wedge that fits between the upper and lower than tightens things up. Probably has no effect on performance, but stops the wobble.

AK103K
February 9, 2010, 09:06 AM
The "O" ring goes on the front lug, and it does work. I have a Bushmaster that has the same problem and it always drove me nuts until I found this cheap and easy fix. I also had to make my own oversize "accuwedge" out of a drafting eraser for the rear.

http://home.comcast.net/~jesse99/AR_Wiggle.html

look close at the base of the lug, you'll see the "O" ring...
http://home.comcast.net/~jesse99/o-ring1.jpg

brian923
February 9, 2010, 12:44 PM
i have always wondered if wobble has "no" effect on accuracy... not trying to start anything, or call anyone dumb or stupid, but i always hear this. i have an AR that is very tight. almost annoyingly tight, but i would rather it be that way then loose.

my thought is that, a tighter upper to lower fit would be more accurate at longer ranges. heres my thinking....