PDA

View Full Version : NC Handgun: Waiting period?

ang4me
December 13, 2009, 06:33 PM
Is there a waiting period to get a Pistol Permit in NC (I live in Orange County), or can I get it that same day?

Same question, for a CCW permit. How long, in days, does it take to get one, from start to finish?

I looked through the laws on the NC gov website, but it wasn't clear whether or not they make you wait. I'm leaving to go hunting Tuesday, and I was going to try and buy myself a handgun on Monday.... I'm a student so I live out of state at my school, but legally I'm still a NC resident.

Thanks!

hoytinak
December 13, 2009, 06:34 PM
When I lived in Cumberland County a couple years ago it took 3-5 days for handgun permits depending on how busy they were. You could get up to 5 at a time, they were $5 each and was good for 5 years from date of purchase.

Alot of it's going to depend on teh County itself though.

RT
December 13, 2009, 06:44 PM
Durham Co. would make you wait for 30 days. Yes, 30 days. I kid you not.

bangbangshootshoot
December 13, 2009, 06:45 PM
My carry permit arrived 3 days short of the 90 day waiting period.

ang4me
December 13, 2009, 06:55 PM
Wow, that's stinky. Somehow I hadn't heard of this particular type of permit until now. Not that I intend to buy multiple handguns any time soon, but do you have to have a permit for every handgun you own?

BKScripto
December 13, 2009, 06:55 PM
I live in Iredell county and I got my purchase permit in a matter of minutes while I was waiting at the Statesville Sheriff's Department.

On the other hand, in the next county south of Iredell (Mecklenburg) it takes 4-5 weeks on average from what I've been told at the local guns shops residing in that county.

Apparently it depends on the county, Statesville (Iredell county) is a much smaller town than say Charlotte or Mooresville (Mecklenburg county), thus not as busy and a quicker turn around time.