PDA

View Full Version : New Mini 14

Winston81
December 13, 2009, 09:06 AM
I recently purchased a Ruger Mini 14, basically went with it because of the price, i was just looking for something to have some fun with without costing an arm and a leg. Any suggestions for what i should sight it in at? General consensus is 200 yds but like i said i'm new to a rifle!

radom
December 13, 2009, 09:41 AM
Just bend over buying mags is all.

MoBart
December 13, 2009, 09:53 AM
I was thinking the same thing on mags but, they have dropped over the last year or so, inspite of the obama's coming price gouging. If you check midwayusa.com and cheaperthendirt.com they both are listing mags fairly cheap. I had a mini several years ago. Not the most accurate in the world but at 100 yards it was decent usually around 3 1/2 inches from a good prone position. Super handy little carbine though, kinda heavy but balances really well, points really well, I loved it. Shot a few coyotes with it and lots of paper bad guys got shot to hell. Mags were expensive then but, it was during the clinton era and were alot few of them available then AR mags.

200 Yards is about right. The cartridge is capable of alot more, but the minis, from what I have heard and seen with mine, start getting a little iffy past about 300.

stellite
December 13, 2009, 09:53 AM
I have an early 90's ranch stainless model and it is still going strong, none the worse for wear. plenty of accuracy and mine is totally reliable. As for sighting in that is up to you and what you plan to do with it. Mags go for 15-20 bucks range.

radom
December 13, 2009, 10:09 AM
Yes you can get mags for the things in the 20 buck area but they are hit and miss. Decent mags that you can trust are like 45 bucks on a good day.

Matt19
December 13, 2009, 10:13 AM
I had one, once upon a time. It was never the most accurate little rifle, but it wasn't bad. You'll enjoy it. And there are enough after market accessories out there if you want to "doll it up"