PDA

View Full Version : AR 15 Open Sights

kemassey
December 3, 2009, 09:52 PM
I'm new to the AR 15 field. I just purchased an DPMS Panther Classic with 20" barrel. What yard distance would the sights be set at from the factory? I'm shooting about 100 feet and can't hit a damn thing. I also have to use the bigger peep sight, can't see through the smaller one. Is a shame to this firearm cost so much and can't hit anything. I pulled out my M44 and have no problem hitting targets on a worn out old rifle. Hope someone can help me.

zoomie
December 3, 2009, 09:55 PM
Are you on paper even? How big is your target? It might help to get a large blank sheet of paper to hang up at first. At only 100 feet though, you shouldn't be more than a foot off in any direction no matter where the sights are from the factory. Also, have somebody else shoot it and see how they do.

NSO_w/_SIG
December 4, 2009, 07:53 AM
Is the front sight base canted? There is really no reason you shouldn't atleast be on paper from so close and really no reason that you can't see the front sight post through the small peep either. Need more info.

madcratebuilder
December 4, 2009, 07:56 AM
Something is not right, AR sights are pretty fool proof. You should be one paper out of the box. Google the "25yd M16 zero" that well help you get it set.

NSO_w/_SIG
December 4, 2009, 08:08 AM
Use this thread for a reference.... BTW, lots of people including myself prefer the 50 yd. zero for most applications.

http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=18&t=328143

robmkivseries70
December 4, 2009, 09:17 AM
^^^^ I have done this, it works very well. After setting up at 25 yards, I had to move the rear sight 2 clicks left at 100 yards. As long as you remember to count clicks from the bottom or the 8/3 reference, you're good to go out to about 400 yards, after that to difference between yards and meters becomes to great.
Best,
Rob

10-96
December 4, 2009, 10:42 AM
Here's what I would try: