PDA

View Full Version : scope mount shim


Xwrench3
April 25, 2009, 01:07 AM
i need to shim my scope mount, i have the scope adjustment all the way to the up end of travel, and it is still shooting a little low. i am thinking that i need to put a shim under the back of the scope mount, correct?

hunter11
April 25, 2009, 12:25 PM
You need to raise the front mount. Dan

Scorch
April 25, 2009, 12:31 PM
i am thinking that i need to put a shim under the back of the scope mount, correct?Yes, correct. Just remember line of sight vs line of bore. If you are hitting too low, you need to make you point of aim lower in relation to the line of the bore. The way to do that is to raise the rear of the scope.

You need to raise the front mount.No, incorrect.

hunter11
April 25, 2009, 12:44 PM
You are right I guess my mind skipped a beat. Dan

Doyle
April 25, 2009, 09:34 PM
Don't shim the mount, shim the rings. I use the brass from a high-brass shotgun sell. Use a dremel tool to cut off the shell base, then split the brass into two halves. Once cut, the plastic from the shell will fall away.

Xwrench3
April 28, 2009, 09:56 AM
i did that once. it ruined a perfectly good variable scope. the misalignment of the two rings caused the tube to bend enough that the "zoom ring" could not be turned. i will NEVER shim the scope again!:mad:

a7mmnut
April 28, 2009, 10:00 AM
Can I ask what kind of setup you have? It sounds to me like the rings are way too high above the bore already.:confused:


-7-

rgitzlaff
April 28, 2009, 12:41 PM
Get Burris signature rings with the offets... it will allow you to do what you want without putting any stress on the scope tube. They are inexpensive and hold the scope well without putting any marks on it.

10-96
April 28, 2009, 02:54 PM
+1 on Burris Signatures!
Seeing shim material poking out here and there just looks plain... Bubba.