PDA

View Full Version : What ammo for 12 Guage for Colorado black bear protection

Lambdebois
April 20, 2009, 11:52 AM
I'm curious if most feel 00 buck shot or a slug is better for black bear protection.
I also hear about alternating the rounds with one being the slug then next buck shot the a slug ect....

honkylips
April 20, 2009, 11:55 AM
Slugs. I'm not sure what buckshot would do to a decent sized bear (**** him off?). I'm no expert here, but that's my $.02

hornady
April 20, 2009, 12:02 PM
I would say slug. I saw a 300 pound Pa black bear get hit with a 300 WSM and go 75 yards.before he dropped

oneounceload
April 20, 2009, 12:07 PM
When I used to live on the Western Slope, most folks out walking the dog or hiking carried a 357 or 44 and felt adequately protected. I would imagine that slugs would more than do the job .....with proper shot placement - THAT, IMO, is the key......

fbrown333@suddenlink
April 20, 2009, 12:48 PM
Slug all the way. IMO oo buck is for people:) A bear is a hearty animal and can take a pretty good hit and still do damage. They are one of the few animals that have been known to attack in the direction from which the injury came from, the other being a lion or wild piggy (mmmm pork chops):D
Breneke(spelling) makes a good slug and I also have Remingtons,and Winchesters. Just make your shot count, the last thing you want is to have to trail a wounded bear into thick brush:eek:. That gives me a pucker factor of about 8.

BigJimP
April 20, 2009, 04:22 PM
Its only a black bear man ....they aren't that aggressive unless you run into a sow with cubs / and you don't want to kill her except as a serious last resort... 90% of the time or more - you'll have plenty of time to back off from a black bear ( grizzly is different, but there aren't any Grizzly that far south anymore).