PDA

View Full Version : do all cops treat their guns like crap?

troy_mclure
April 1, 2009, 10:37 PM
and not clean them too?

i was at a gun shop today while they were getting the local police forces Sig's to sell.
they had a wide variety of dirty, beat up, overpriced Sig, and Sig sauer.

i was watching the gunsmith. he would do a quick look, quick functions check, then put it on the counter if it passed.
whereupon another guy would write a ridiculously high price on it.
about 1/4 of the guns went in a bucket, im assuming to be repaired.

but the for sale ones were filthy, beat all to hell, 1 226 even had 1/2 of the rear sight gone($799!!:barf:), and in just terrible shape.

i realize most cops aren't gun nuts, but their(and my) lives may have to depend on that firearm functioning accurately and correctly.

if i was a cop, armed guard, etc... i would consider my sidearm as a peice of life support equipment.

MrClean
April 1, 2009, 10:47 PM
do all cops treat their guns like crap?

No.

And if I see someone's in that kinda shape on our team, I will make sure they take care of it. Like you said..... lives may depend on that!!!

csmsss
April 1, 2009, 11:01 PM
I can pretty much guarantee you that the officers who must purchase their own duty weapons don't treat them like that!

Re4mer
April 1, 2009, 11:08 PM
I only knew two cops well enough to answer and they were both pretty solid about gun maintenance.

Rich Miranda
April 1, 2009, 11:33 PM
Years ago, I was talking with an officer who was carrying a 1911 style gun cocked and locked. I was peeking at his gun and there were lint and fibers all around the cocked hammer (maybe the lubricant attracted them). It looked like the gun hadn't even been unloaded/hammer uncocked in quite some time, let alone cleaned well.

To be fair, I doubt highly that the lint and fibers I saw would have affected the operation of the hammer or gun. I suppose it was mostly cosmetic.

LoneWolf22056
April 1, 2009, 11:35 PM