PDA

View Full Version : The real Duke Nukem 3D shotgun...anyone care to identify?

Jonathan12
March 27, 2009, 04:14 PM
I got this from a video clip off the 3D Realms website. Seems they used a real shotgun to base the game weapon on, and this was their reference. I'm no expert on shotguns, so I'm not confident in my ability to ID it. It does feature a TacStar foregrip, so it would have to be one of the compatible models and I'm certain it's not a Mossberg 500/590. So, Remington 870 or Winchester 1200/1300?

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y143/Jonathan16416/dukenukemshotgun.jpg

Duke Nukem 3D was certainly not the best game of all time, but I always liked the pop culture references, it had solid gameplay, and of course the shotgun. One of the more memorable computer game weapons...

*EDIT*
In case anyone was wondering, it is held left handed in the shots above so that it could be "mirrored" in game. So in game it was shown fired right handed but the ejector was on the left side. Sadly a very common thing done in games, because apparently it "looks cool."

-Jonathan

troy_mclure
March 27, 2009, 04:17 PM

dalecooper51
March 27, 2009, 04:21 PM
It looks like a Winchester 1300 to me.

Wallabing
March 27, 2009, 04:23 PM
It's a Winchester 1300.

It has the rectangle breech bolt, and a single trigger group pin.

OLNfan
March 27, 2009, 04:24 PM
either way any pistol grip shotgun can look like it. heat shield, hand foregrip. then wa la.

Wallabing
March 27, 2009, 04:25 PM
It cant be a Mossberg 500, all mossbergs have the safety on the upper rear of the reciever, the shotgun in the pictures provided does not.

publius
March 27, 2009, 05:30 PM
Winchester, safety on front of triggerguard and the bolt has a flat side.

Jonathan12
March 27, 2009, 07:50 PM