PDA

View Full Version : Still Chasing That Perfect Round...

dalecooper51
March 22, 2009, 07:33 PM
I started shooting skeet last summer and have yet to run a perfect round. We had a real good squad of friends. It was a real nice day today. Everyone was having a good time and shooting pretty well. My downfall was when I realized that I hadn't used my option after station 6. I thought to myself, wow you're doing pretty well. That was all it took and I choked on low 7 and then missed my option ending with a 23.

Maybe next weekend...

oneounceload
March 23, 2009, 03:20 PM
You NEVER look at or worry about your score or the target jinx fairy will get you!

:D

I have done the exact same thing before.....I even made it once to low 8 and missed my last shot..........

I think that's why I moved to 5-stand and sporting - there the objective is to try and hit as many as you can instead of trying to not miss any....:cool:

BigJimP
March 23, 2009, 04:03 PM
Trust me, I understand ........ missing a low 8 is the ultimate "coughing up of a furr-ball" - but there is a saying, if you miss a target on station 7 - you buy the refreshments .....

Always remember, there are no gimmee targets on a Skeet field. Station 7 will show a fundamental flaw as fast as any other station ......

Work on your fundamentals - and if you can shoot Skeet - your wingshooting, sporting clays, etc will all improve. Keep your eye on the target - and keep us posted. None of us run as many 25's as we did years ago ( but its fun trying ..) - with a 12, 20 or 28ga and a .410 ...

dalecooper51
March 23, 2009, 07:16 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. You are both right on the money as I reminded myself of two things missing that shot. The first is not to think too much. The second is that there are no gimmes. Even though I normally hit that shot, no shots are guaranteed. That was my best round of the day. I followed up with a 20 and a 21. The wind picked up and the birds were rather lively.