PDA

View Full Version : 1100 question


Gazzmann
March 14, 2009, 09:17 PM
Have a 1100 3" and 2 3/4 high brass or magnums shoot fine, but when it is loaded with plain standard velocity low brass rounds it won't eject the empties.
Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.
John

roklok
March 14, 2009, 09:40 PM
It is working exactly how it was designed. The 3" model 1100 models are not designed for light loads. That is why it was big news when the 11-87 was introduced that would handle light and heavy loads interchangeably.

jmr40
March 15, 2009, 07:25 AM
Exactly, in order to shoot the light loads reliably your going to need another gun.

dropthehammer
March 15, 2009, 08:04 AM
The gas ports on the barrel can be opened up one drill size and your 3" mag 1100 will handle anything you put through it. This should be done by a competent gunsmith or machinist. You can also purchase a 2-3/4" only barrel and it will cycle light loads as well.

zippy13
March 15, 2009, 01:08 PM
The gas ports on the barrel can be opened up one drill size and your 3" mag 1100 will handle anything you put through it. This should be done by a competent gunsmith or machinist. You can also purchase a 2-3/4" only barrel and it will cycle light loads as well.
+1
However, my I suggest you first try 2-3/4" shells with a borrowed barrel.