PDA

View Full Version : bullets for deer hunting

newguy07
December 8, 2008, 09:05 PM
Hello, I'm new to ML just bought my first one this year for dear season. I purchased a CVA wolf and I also bought a seperate starter kit from CVA which included 295 grain powerbelt hollowpoint bullets. The gun/bullets were very acurate and consistent out to 100 yards with 2 triple 7 fifty grain pellets (all I tested) and I was pleased with them. However, yesterday afternoon I shot a doe at ~40 yards with a perfect shot into the boiler room. When I went down to look for her I found only a few specs of blood and a very light blood trail for ~10 feet then nothing. Luckily there was a light covering of snow on the ground and I was able to follow a set of fresh tracks and find her (a few drops of blood here and there along the way). She ran ~200 yards. When I found her I verified it was a perfect shot however there was no exit wound. Not very pleased at all and I was lucky to have found her out in the woods. I got online today and read that numerous other people have had this problem with powerbelts. Well I would say I am looking forward to going out again this year with the ML and future years but I can't risk loosing a deer using a bullet that doesn't leave a blood trail. So what do you recommend that is easy to use and clean for a new guy and would be effective on deer and accurate out to 150 yards.

cookhj
December 8, 2008, 10:05 PM
I have a .45 T/C omega that is scary accurate with 150 gr of goex clear shot and 200 gr hornady SST bullets. Does quite a number on deer. Give them a try and see how well they shoot in your rifle.

arcticap
December 10, 2008, 12:29 AM
There's over 85 user reviews for the Wolf at Cabela's, some of which offer some excellent bullet recommendations.
The regular Powerbelt bullets are said to penetrate better with a lower powder charge of about 80 grains, while the 348 grain Platinums hold together better shooting with more powder due to its thicker jacket.