PDA

View Full Version : Reloading shotshells - how much can I save?

JPTJPT
November 27, 2008, 06:37 PM
I am new to trap and clays, but i can tell i'll be doing it for a while. I can buy Remington Gun Club shells at Dick's on sale for 5 dollars per box. I can get Nitro shells for 8 bucks or so. How much $$$ am i going to save if I get a MEC single-stage press and reload all my shells.

I am figuring on going through maybe 300-400 shells a week.

BTW, if I can afford a MEC 9000 i would get one, I suppose. But the extra 350 dollars is a lot.

shepherddogs
November 27, 2008, 07:32 PM
My experience is that you won't save much if anything on the dove, quail loads you can buy at Walmart. The magnum field loads are a different story. The heavy field loads you can make for $3.50 a box will cost a whole lot more at Walmart. If you shoot a lot of heavy loads it pays off.

hogdogs
November 27, 2008, 07:41 PM
At 23 dollars per hundred You are real close to 5 dollars per box for the cheap bulk brick walmart loads... So you can make a heavy load for $3.50 but not a light load?:o Seriously tho... I priced walmart bulk last night and it made me wanna start reloading...
Brent

shepherddogs
November 27, 2008, 07:51 PM
What I'm saying is that it isn't really worth loading target loads to save a dollar a box. You can save a ton on heavy field loads. So you wonder why not just load all heavy field loads. Because they aren't much fun to shoot. Especially in my old A5. 1 1/2 oz. Magnum loads kick like hell. I got a K Mart flyer advertising 12 gauge dove loads for $3.99 the other day.

perazzimx14
November 27, 2008, 11:30 PM
If you go to trapshooter.com, on the home page there is a reloading calculator. Plug in your costs and it will give you a price per load.

To get the best deals forget Gander Mountain, Cabelas and the like for components. They habitually are very expensive.