PDA

View Full Version : 1851 Navy

postal guy
September 3, 2008, 01:09 PM
I am in the process of purchasing my FIRST bp pistol. A gentleman on-line has a (from the symbol on the left side) Uberti 1851 for a good price. My question for you experts are: the pistol looks to have all brass behind the barrel and not what looks to be case-hardened steel. He said he got this from a fellow who said it is new. Does not look to be what is at the Uberti site. Also, what do I need to be cautious of being I am a newbie. This will be my first, not my last. Thanks, guys.:confused:

oldmaster111
September 3, 2008, 01:32 PM
What he is selling is a copy of the Confederate copy of the Colt Navy. The south didn't have much steel so they used brass where they could. I have one but it was made by Pietta. Fun to shoot and resonably accurate. You will have to reduce your black powder load. I use 23-24 grains of powder under the felt wad and ball. Works just fine. I'm assuming the revolver you are looking at is a 44. If it is a 36 caliber, you might want to reduce the load a little more.The brass is soft but if you take care to not fire it with all the powder you can stuff in it, it should last you a long time.:D

Citizen Carrier
September 3, 2008, 02:42 PM
And if you put some time in with a rag and some Brasso, you can polish the brass to a very high sheen.

postal guy
September 3, 2008, 02:44 PM
Thanks,oldmaster. My problem is I did not see this pistol on the Uberti web site. Would the Uberti symbol be on something else? BTW it is .36.

Oquirrh
September 3, 2008, 03:06 PM
If it has the Uberti proof mark then, it's an Uberti. They may have discontinued the line. I've never seen an Uberti brass-framed 51, only Pietta.

A .36 would be hard to overload with black powder, even with a brass frame. With accurate loads, 15 to 25 grains, it should outlast you and produce a lot of fun and smoke.