PDA

View Full Version : Super old Ammo find...

hogdogs
July 21, 2008, 05:26 PM
It was a hot (typical) summer day in central florida about 10 or so years back...
I was a pest control tech and wood destroying organisms inspector. I was doing a an inspection of a home that had previously been attacked by termites to make sure the problem was eliminated. I had completed my indoor and outdoor portions and all that was left was the attic. Up there at well over 120 degrees I was drippin' sweat in seconds and find several boxes about 2X2X2 foot in size over filled with boxes of shotgun ammo. Many if not most was paper type. Some boxes had failed and shells were in plain sight. I noticed oily looking stains seeped out in the powder section. I asked the couple about it and they informed me they had not been up there in about 20 years and the guy had not shot in more like 30 years. They asked if I wanted the shells... NO WAY BUD... I wouldn't even touch them as I don't know how unstable they could be. They asked how to handle it. I told them I would be glad to set it up... I called the next morning as it was past office hours to the FD and told them of my find and that I felt it may make a nice training op for the PD bomb squad. They thought that would be wise as well and it was set up for the next day which was saturday And I got to be there to watch... The bomb squad guys were quick to let me know the attic was hotter in their suits than it was for me in mine. They told me it was estimated at 250-300 pounds or some such high number. They took the blast wagon around the corner from the subdivision to a safe location and blew up the ammo to render it safe to finish disposal...
Brent

dogtown tom
July 21, 2008, 07:35 PM
Since when do shotgun shells become "unstable"? That would be big news to cartridge collectors!