PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on attaching SureFire light to AR15 carbine


BrassSlinger
July 17, 2008, 09:59 PM
I have a rail system on my ar15 that I would like to attach an Defender SureFire light too. I want to attach a pressure sensitive switch to the light and run the switch down the forward grip thats attached to my rail. I also would like to remove the light from the weapon when its not needed. How can I accomplish this?

Here are the models I am interested in using.
http://www.surefire.com/maxexp/main/co_disp/displ/prrfnbr/1132/sesent/00
http://www.surefire.com/maxexp/main/co_disp/displ/prrfnbr/24437/sesent/00

MisterWilson
July 17, 2008, 10:41 PM
It's kinda tricky to do the easy on/easy off trick when you've got the tape switch running through a vert grip.

Unless you've tried it and are sure you like it, I wouldn't even recommend the tape switch. I've had both the rail and vert grip mounted tape switches and I've always gone back to pressure mounted.



Surefire tapeswitch, didn't like it, wasn't positive and crowded the rail.
http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q252/mastersqurm/NFA/DSC00663.jpg

Mounted without the tapeswitch w/ a vert grip. It was okay, a different tailcap would have helped in addition to having it lower & more accessible.
http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q252/mastersqurm/Guns/DSC02894.jpg


Sweetspot. Natural & intuitive. Easy to activate & control.
http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q252/mastersqurm/Guns/DSC08060.jpg




If I had to do it all over again (and didn't get an unbelievable deal on Scout lights), I'd get the G2 and put it in a Vltor (http://vltor.com/vltor-mountables.htm)or LaRue (http://stores.homestead.com/Laruetactical/Detail.bok?no=23)mount, depending on whether or not you were still going to run the Vert grip. And not the $60 G2 LED, but the $35 incandescent G2, and buy a 290 lumen LED upgrade to put in it for $20. (http://www.thefiringline.com/forums.
/showthread.php?t=291907)


Hope that helped.

BrassSlinger
July 17, 2008, 11:00 PM
Great thanks for the response thats what I was looking for. I like the idea of using the offset scout mount with the vertical grip near so I could turn it on with my thumb instead of the tape switch. But lets say I wanted to use the tape switch later, what tape switch would be needed for the SureFire lights? Where would I buy it?

Thanks much :D

MisterWilson
July 17, 2008, 11:44 PM
I don't know exactly what kind you'd need but I know who would know, and have a GREAT price on them.

Kevin & Calvin @ www.brightflashlights.com

They come very highly recommended, and for good reason.

john1969
January 28, 2013, 08:35 AM
Anyone know how to remove tape switch? Surefire model unknown, painted over. Non LED type. Thanks!

jokester_143
January 30, 2013, 04:17 AM
Brass, I didn't even bother with the pressure switch, and aligned my surefire to my forward grip. That way I can use my thumb to toggle the light on/off.

(I.E. I am a lefty, so i threw my light on my Right side rail just a mark or two forward of where my grip is located on my lower rail.)




...we had an issue of people accidentally triggering their light when I was deployed, so I started doing it this way as did others.