PDA

View Full Version : Back up Knife?

9ballbilly
May 28, 2008, 03:58 PM
I've read quite a bit lately about the pros and cons of carrying a BUG. I personally never have, even when I was a cop. I did carry a sap, switchblade, and push knife while on duty and have continued the practice of carrying a tactical/personal defense knife daily in addition to a handgun.
Mine is a Kershaw 1640 vapor designed by Ken Onion with a 3" blade. I'm curious, how many of you guys carry a tactical knife in addition to your firearm? Anyone use pepper spray? Something else?

Note: I'm not making any judgement of BUG's. Just wondering how many people chose a different option.

Keltyke
May 28, 2008, 04:16 PM
In the past, I knew LEOs who carried a gun, two speed loaders (in the days of revolvers), a blackjack, pepper spray, a nightstick, AND a Maglite. I've known some cops to carry a backup piece AND a "throwdown" piece.

Carrying CWP, I've never carried a backup gun or spare ammo. Maybe I'm kidding myself. I feel pepper spray has too much chance of missing or being misdirected by the wind in addition to a hype or drunk not feeling it, and a knife allows the perp to get too close.

Moe Howard
May 28, 2008, 04:30 PM
Both I carry a BUG, a primary with extra mag, a lockback knife, (Camillus Heat), and a Victorinox Swiss Champ pocket knife with 30+ tools. When I am at work I have a Leatherman, and whatever else I can get into my vest. When I get undressed at night it is like disarming Germany.:eek:

ElectricHellfire
May 28, 2008, 04:35 PM
I have a number of different blades that I rotate out with my CCW. The "most carried" list is as follows:

(I carry only one of these at a time) :)

Spyderco Endura
Benchmade Ambush
SOG Flash II
SOG Trident
Kershaw Speed Bump (Ken Onion)

I also carry a Ontario RAT-3 Fixed blade and Leatherman Micro in my Maxpedition Versipack.

honkylips
May 28, 2008, 04:45 PM
I've known some cops to carry a backup piece AND a "throwdown" piece.