PDA

View Full Version : i need a barrel expert


mnhntr
April 16, 2008, 11:31 PM
i bought a DPMS low pro classic. it comes with a very thick, heavy, 16in bull barrel and i want to have it fluted. is this possible? how much should it cost? how much weight can i expect it to shave?

ogree
April 17, 2008, 12:30 AM
Yes it is possible, but a lot of places are hesitant to flute a barrel if they don't know how the barrel was manufactured in the first place, there is a good chance the barrel will warp during the process.
Barrel makers generally flute barrels after they are stress relieved if that hasn't been done already in the manufacturing process.
Many barrel manufacturers will not flute another makers barrels.
Many smiths will offer barrel fluting services as well as some of the major gun companies……it’s just a matter of looking around and doing some pricing.
The price may make you cringe.
The amount of weight loss will be determined on how deep the flutes are cut and that info will vary depending on who does the cutting.

UniversalFrost
April 17, 2008, 09:37 AM
like said earlier it would be snowing in hell basicly, before another barrel maker flutes someone elses barrel for ya and if they did it would cost more than another already fluted barrel.

On the AR platforms it is real easy to swap out barrels.

Midway has some good deals on fluted barrels.

It should take about 30 minutes to swap out the barrel if you have the tools and the know how.

Otherwise it will take your smith about 30 minutes and cost you about 60 bucks.

JOE

Alleykat
April 17, 2008, 11:19 AM
And, you won't save much weight by fluting. The fluted barrel will also be less rigid than was the barrel prior to fluting.

Jim Watson
April 17, 2008, 02:07 PM
One outfit told me that deep fluting would take off 14 ounces, but that was a longer barrel than 16". I don't recall the price, but it was long enough ago that it is surely higher now.

mnhntr
April 17, 2008, 03:50 PM
thanks guys i may just leave it alone

ForneyRider
May 14, 2008, 07:18 PM
Shilen has a page on their website about why they don't flute barrels.

Talked to a 'smith, he said it is for looks more than anything else.

James K
May 14, 2008, 07:47 PM
I think I can safely say that even with a conventional rifle, and especially with an AR-15 type, it would be a heckuva lot cheaper and easier to install another barrel than to have the one fluted that is on there.

Jim