PDA

View Full Version : Scope advice please

AdamSean
April 12, 2008, 11:09 PM
Hey all. I am in need of a better scope. I am shooting a .270 Win and want a scope that will give me good use out to the longer distances...200 yards approximately.

I am also looking for a good scope, but not too expensive. I am new to rifles and scopes, so give me some good honest advise. Thanks.

rantingredneck
April 12, 2008, 11:18 PM
There are several good choices starting around 150.00. Not many below that, and quite a few above that.

I have had good results with Nikon's offerings. Their Pro-staff line is hard to beat at the 150.00 price point. Bushnell's Elite 3200 series starts somewhere around 200.00 I think. Then there's the Leupold Rifleman and others.

Only one I've had experience with is Nikon. I've done Simmons/BSA thing though and the experiences left a bit to be desired.

AdamSean
April 13, 2008, 12:32 AM
What power and size will be good for the distances I want? I am looking at a 4-12x40mm. Opinions?

T. O'Heir
April 13, 2008, 03:29 AM
What's on it now? A scope does nothing but allow you to see the target better. The higher the magnification, the smaller the field of view(the area you can see at 100 yards). Plus a larger front lens will require higher rings. 200 yards isn't that far, but think in terms of no more than a 3x to 9x variable with no more tham a 40mm front lens. That'll give you practical useage with a 12' field of view at 100 yards. You get about 9' with a 12X scope. A smaller field of view makes finding the kill zone on a deer slower.

phil mcwilliam
April 13, 2008, 06:34 AM
I can recommend leupold 3-9x40 vx11. I have 2 of these scopes on my hunting rifles. Shooting at distances of 200 yards is fine when the scope is set on 9x.

fisherman66
April 13, 2008, 08:20 AM
Below is some Sunday reading material. The first link will show a few dozen perspectives on scopes. The second will provide almost 50 reviews of scopes.