PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question about Milliradian dots


Lavid2002
March 23, 2008, 01:52 AM
On the Super Sniper scopes, The 16x scope. What happens with the mil dots? The reticle is cut differently for the different magnification. So they have a different reticle for the 10x, the 16x and the 20x right?
If not this equation
Target size in yards X 1,000 Divided by # of mil dots needed to cover target
Would not work because the # of mil dots needed to cover ther target would change. If the magnification is greater obviously it would require less mil dots than usual to cover the target. So they have different reticles right? Please? haha I REALLY dont feel like adding another factor into the mathematic equation I just started into mil-dots a few days ago.
Thanks!
Dave

Lavid2002
March 23, 2008, 08:17 PM
no one?

nate45
March 23, 2008, 08:35 PM
I believe that on most scopes the mill dots are only accurate on a single power.

Here is what I learned from when I got a mil dot scope a couple of years ago.

http://www.alpharubicon.com/leo/mildot.htm

http://www.remingtonmilitary.com/articles/DA%202005.12MH.pdf#search=%22how%20to%20use%20a%20mil-dot%22

Hope these articles help.

I really like the mil dot system myself. I've done ome good long range shooting with my Rem 700 .308 using the mil dots.

Lavid2002
March 24, 2008, 11:12 AM
I know on variable power mil dot scopes the manufacturer lists the power ion wich the mil dots are accurate, but this scope is a single power, 16x.

Zak Smith
March 24, 2008, 12:04 PM
In a variable, a second focal plane scope will only accurately subtend the angles at one power setting (usually max). In a first focal plane scope, the reticle will always accurately subtend the angle specified. In a fixed power, it always has to be on since you can't adjust it.

Lavid2002
March 24, 2008, 07:39 PM
: D Thanks bud