PDA

View Full Version : pistol grip

bazookazilla
February 20, 2008, 10:02 PM
I am VERY new to shotguns, please pardon my ignorance if I say anything stupid. I have a Remington 870. But my question is: With a pistol grip installed on my 870 and what I think would be called 'no additional stock" and an 18" barrel would the recoil be tremendous? Please keep in mind that I am soooo new to shotgunning that I have not even had a chance to fire my 870 one time. I do not mind recoil, unless it is at a level that makes the gun unmanageable (for a novice such as myself). I intend to use the gun with it's full stock and 28" barrels for clay shooting, but would like to switch the barrel and stock for home defense when not being used for clay shooting. Would I be better off to do with the Remington stock?

EEL92fs
February 20, 2008, 10:11 PM
I think we all have tryed the pistol grip one time =) then you take it off and put the stock back on.. You have to at least try it one time. I now have my Mossy 500 with the stocks and an 18 1/2 barrel.

bazookazilla
February 20, 2008, 10:16 PM
pretty vicious eh?

rem870hunter
February 20, 2008, 10:20 PM
it can be especially vicious with 3" shells. i fired some 2 and 3/4" buckshot from the hip when i was younger. i didn't like it. best bet leave a full buttstock on it with the 18.5" barrel. your wrists will thank you.

bazookazilla
February 20, 2008, 11:42 PM
Thanks for your input guys, it is what I expected to hear

EEL92fs
February 21, 2008, 12:09 AM
Now you still have to try it :D

hogdogs
February 21, 2008, 01:33 AM