PDA

View Full Version : 12 gauge recoil

MikeinLA
January 3, 2008, 01:44 AM
I am completely new to shotguns, but am considering getting an 870 Marine for home/boat defense. Being a 200 lb 6 ft male in reasonable condition, is the recoil from a 12 gauge shotgun very intimidating or is it manageable? I guess I have just seen too many movie scenes of people firing a shotgun and being blown backwards. And yes, I will find a range to practice with it before putting it into HD service. But I was just curious.

Thanks, Mike

tplumeri
January 3, 2008, 01:52 AM
Im 5'10" and 165 lbs and dont have any problems with my mossberg 500. full stock.
had an early model mossberg with pistol grip that was a little more of a handful.
definately couldnt shoot it one handed like arnold did in terminator!

10-96
January 3, 2008, 01:54 AM
You'll have no problems. If you suspect you might have a case of the skittishes- start out with light loads such as the $3.50/box upland game bird loads and then work your way up as you come to realize that recoil isn't so bad after all. The amount of lead (load weight) you shove out the noisey end is the prime dictator of recoil. As you work up, you'll learn to just "lean into" the heavy loads such as the 00's or slugs. Oh, also start out with the 2 3/4" shells. And, of course there are recoil reducers such as Dead Mule and comping and porting- but a guy your size will do just fine.

hogdogs
January 3, 2008, 02:08 AM
I am a little guy... 5' 8" 145-150. I ain't skeered at all of poppin off a 12er of any load... I ain't real fond of 2 3/4 slugs or buck for a day of shooting but a 3 1/2 heavy load would not bother me a bit for HD... I will have a sore spot after a few "hot rounds" which is any buck or slug of any length but my left hand and arm are 15% since a motor vehicle crash in sept.
Before that I would not hesitate to bust off 6 3 inch slugs in rapid succession!
Brent

chris in va
January 3, 2008, 02:23 AM