PDA

View Full Version : War Stories: How have they affected your choice of CCW firearms,bullet selection?

Socrates
December 24, 2006, 01:02 PM
Hi
First I'd like to apologize for posting under another name here, to Erik. I'm a public school teacher in Kalifornia, and, need to stay out of the spotlight discussing firearms.

I've only been hit over the head once in my life with a gun, or threatened with a gun. That experience changed my perspective on CCW, firearms, and ammunition selection.
I'm asking a specific question:
have you ever been confronted by an armed robber, intruder, or, had to fire on such a person?
If so, how did that experience affect your choice of calibers?

There is an old saying about hunting in Africa,

"Once you are among them, there is NEVER enough gun!"

I'm wondering for those of you that have faced firearms, and been in situations that might require, or did require, deadly force, if those situations altered your view of firearms for CCW, and if so, how?

Thank you

Socrates

PS Have a Merry Christmas, and, a Happy New Year

revjen45
December 24, 2006, 03:24 PM
I have had 3 times when I thought I might have to use a gun against a human. Twice I had a .22 mag derringer and you bet I wished I had more gun. The other time I had a .38 5-shot snubbie- not sure I was under attack, but the mental alarm bells were ringing. Had my hand on it, did not draw.

oldbillthundercheif
December 24, 2006, 03:31 PM
Almost 15 years ago I was brutally assaulted by a very large, very intoxicated man with a pair of nunchucks...

I used to carry a hi-power in those days but now carry a 1911. The hi-power saved my skin without firing a shot but perhaps a .45 in my hand would have been slightly more comforting in that situation...

I didn't put much thought into it, but I do carry a bigger gun now so I guess the experience could have influenced my decision.

Dwight55
December 24, 2006, 08:27 PM