PDA

View Full Version : High Speed Chase, Officer shoots and drives

westphoenix
October 9, 2006, 02:35 PM
Sorry if this is a repost:

Direct Video Link: http://media1.break.com/dnet/media/2006/10/once_a_crook_always_a_crook.wmv
Page Link: http://www.break.com/index/once_a_crook_always_a_crook.html

This is my first time watching this video and didn't like what I saw.
I know some of these clips are editted for entertainment purposes.
When the cop goes to shoot the tires it seems to me as he is risking many lives.
What do you guys think?

Please no cop bashing!

stephen426
October 9, 2006, 03:01 PM
Holy crap! Did the police truck just run him over? I hope this guy doesn't end up suing the pants off of the police department for that officer's stupidity. The suspect was on foot. How hard would it be for them to surround him and either taze him or pepper spray him? Some scumbag attorney is going to have a field day, especially since it was caught on tape.

As for the officer firing on the vehicle, I clearly saw other vehicles behind and in the proximity of the fleeing vehicle. While it would be very bad if the fleeing driver hit a pedestrian, I'm not sure the officer was really aware of (or did not care) what lay beyond his his target. I do give him credit for being able to hit the tires while giving chase though. I think the proper procedure is to get on the radio and call for a road block and/or tire strips. It would certainly be safer for the innocent bystanders. You can't outrun radio. Chopper assistance would have been very helpful as well.

springmom
October 9, 2006, 03:08 PM
westphoenix said:
Please no cop bashing!

to which came the reply:
I hope this guy doesn't end up suing the pants off of the police department for that officer's stupidity.

I think it's too late. :(

Videos on the internet are, for the most part, worth exactly what you paid to watch them. Think "Photoshop" writ large, with movement.