PDA

View Full Version : Trick Shots?


bamf
February 22, 2002, 12:55 AM
I had some really fortunate luck today on the skeet range. I was on station two shooting my double and I tracked the high house clay and fired and unintentionally nailed both high house and low house clays with one shot.

The week before last my buddy did it as well. At the time I figure it was a freak thing that rarely happens. We then tried to replicate the occurence last week but failed.

I was wondering, is this common? Do people try to do it? Or is it just pure luck?

JF59
February 22, 2002, 01:40 AM
I'm not a real skeet shooter but I do like to practice my wing shooting on the skeet range. I've had two targets break with one shot several times and have seen it happen several more. Sometimes its two hits with one shot and sometimes its a piece of the hit target breaks the other as it passes.
As I understand the rules of skeet, both targets do not count as a hit and you must shoot again. The first target counts but the second must be shot again as a double.

Clemson
February 22, 2002, 09:04 AM
The way a skeet range is set up, both the high house bird and the low house bird go through a ring set up at exactly the middle of the field. Usually there is a stake there. If your pattern happens to hit that one spot where the birds cross at the same time both birds get there, you get two with one shot. It looks cool, but it does not count, and you have to reshoot.:D

C.R.Sam
February 22, 2002, 10:24 AM
Clemson right.

Fun, not rare, doesn't count.

Sam

K80Geoff
February 22, 2002, 01:50 PM
Once hit six birds with three shots at a sporting clays stand. Had the right choke and timing. It does count as a dead pair in Sporting , unlike skeet.

Chipperman
February 22, 2002, 05:45 PM
So do they make you start all over with both, or do you just have to shoot the second one again?

Chuck Graber
February 22, 2002, 06:26 PM
Chipperman,
If you smash both targets with the first shot you have to shoot the pair over. The first bird is established as dead though. I have broken both targets quite a number of times with one shot. Generally you are a bit late on the first shot if you shoot the first bird when they are crossing. That is the reason that most experienced skeeters don't shoot many doubles.

Now many sporting clays shooters will try for a double if they can then have a good chance at the second target if they don't get the double.

Chuck Graber

mikey357
February 23, 2002, 03:42 AM
Generally speaking, when shooting Skeet on a "regulation" Skeet field where the targets are set properly, IF you consistently break BOTH targets of a "double" with the first shot, you are firing the first shot just a TAD SLOWER then what is considered the "Ideal" or correct timing for doubles shooting...FWIW....mikey357

Hawkaaa53
February 25, 2002, 12:29 AM
bamf ,

Listen to What Mikey is telling you . What does he really mean?

If you can draw pictures in your mind's eye ( boy , are you lucky)if not , feel free to make a sketch on paper , locate the Hi house , the Lo house and Sta 1,2, 6,7 and the center stake ; if you can do this in your mind's eye , you're good .

O.K. think about Sta.1 doubles , if you ride the target past the
center stake position , the LH target has past the center stake
and you are woefully behind . If you 1st shot breaks the HH target
and you have decent technique , your gunbarrel is close to the Lo house 'cause of follow thru . Now , you'd have to snatch your barrel(s) back across to have any chance at a legitimate break of the LH target .

At Sta 6 'n 7 its just the reverse . SO , to keep from having to horse your gun around , When you can break the first target in doubles before it gets to the center stake , YOU ARE AHEAD , and only have to guide your muzzle(S) to break the other bird . It'll seem like you have time to spare.

Mikey's put the word on you , listen then learn . Hawkaaa53