The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old October 6, 2007, 01:08 PM   #1
KyleH

What would I use to drill a chromoly barrel 16" .410ID

I am a machinist and have access to all kinds of machines, but I have yet to be exposed to anything that could precisely accomplish this task. I would use an 8.5" drill and reamer form both sides of a barrel then thread the barrel onto my receiver correct? The drilling wouldn't actually be .410, I would of course drill and ream it. It is for a 4.10 shotgun shell and will be made out of solid stock.

Heres the project:
http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/...d.php?t=264042
Old October 6, 2007, 02:18 PM   #2
ZeroJunk

Might be easier to find a .410 single shot junker,take the barrel and grind off what you don't need.
Old October 6, 2007, 04:14 PM   #3
Bill DeShivs

Be careful. The minimum legal length for a shotgun barrel is 18".
Old October 7, 2007, 02:50 AM   #4
KyleH

They pointed that out in the other thread, I emailed the ATF for a full list of requirements for a Class III shotgun.

What would I use to drill an 18" barrel .410? If I could get a 1/2" boring bar in there would I maybe have more success? Same question then for .615"/.739"/.775" (20/12/10 gauge)?
Old October 7, 2007, 01:08 PM   #5
bfoster

Drill with a gun drill. Available from Star or one of the other cutting tool manufacturers. Use a lap to finish (the drill will cut between a 63 & 32 RMS finish) or rig a long mandrel if you've got a hone available. Order your drill just a few thousandths undersize, 13/32" or thereabouts will be just fine. A properly sharpened and properly used gun drill is not likely to cut much oversize.

As you've apparently no experience in drilling deep holes I'll outline a simple procedure using an engine lathe:

1: Set up the stock using the chuck and a roller bearing (cam follower) type steady rest.