The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old March 28, 2006, 01:49 AM   #1
prater

Shotgun Advice Needed

I've got a new Remington 870 pump with a 28' barrel and a walnut stock. I'm planning on using it primarily for duck and dove along and occasionally clay shooting. First off this gun does not come with pre drilled for a sling and I'm hesitent to drill into the stock myslef so I have a stupid looking sling that velcro's over stock on it for now. Here are my questions, first off i'm considering changing it over to a synthetic stock with a camo pattern, what are your opinions. Secondly I'm considering switching to a 26' barrel. I just find the 28' to be a little too long. I haven't fired this gun yet and I'm new to shotguns (yes I have fired them) so I don't know which length is better for what I'm doing with it. My brother in law is an avid duck hunter and is the reason I got the gun since he has gotten me into the sport recently, he uses a gun with a 26' barrel and a synthetic camo stock which is much lighter and has pegs for a sling. So basically my questions are. Should I get a 26' or stick with the 28' barrel? and Should I change to a synthetic stock or stick with the wood? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Old March 28, 2006, 01:57 AM   #2
GlocksRfun

I guess I'm kind of ignorant, but I don't care if I have a 28" or an 18" barrel, I'll shoot at clays all day with em. I'm sure someone will tell you the difference, I just don't think it's all that much. I read some post on here that said you really don't gain velocity after 18". and it should spread the same after it leaves the barrel no matter what length. If your using chokes or what not. I would say go with what makes you feel good. If you wanna spend the money for another barrel to loose the 2 inches, go with it. I got nothing on the stock part..
Old March 28, 2006, 08:53 AM   #3
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam