PDA

View Full Version : Is your defensive shotgun "stock" or "dressed up"?

Rob96
October 27, 2001, 03:39 PM
Since I am relatively new to defensive shotguns, I thought I would ask what everyone has done to their defensive shotguns, if anything. My 870 already came from the factory with a +2 extension. Just wondering if there is anything else it "needs".

Opie-IN
October 27, 2001, 03:52 PM
Forget all the gadgets, you need shot shells and range time. If you have to start pulling shells out of a side saddle your in a world of hurt anyway.
I have a synthetic 870 with the factory +2 on it, and am totally satisfied with it the way it is...... For that matter I would be totally satisfied with my 870 Deer gun which holds only 4+1 for home defense.

KSFreeman
October 27, 2001, 06:40 PM
1. Sights--yep, beads can work just fine, but contrary to what gun shop commandos and Hollywood tell you, shotguns do not spew a Boulder of Death from the muzzle. At "most" fighting ranges the shotgun must be aimed, not pointed. At greater ranges, the single projectile slug must be aimed. The sound does not kill. I prefer ghost rings, but I know that all the Selous Scout veterans at my gun club can all hit a pepper popper at 200 yards with a BB glued on the end. I have seen very good work with rifle sights with people with excellent vision.