PDA

View Full Version : Anyone hear of a pump "jamming"?

ds1973
September 6, 2001, 10:58 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to shotguns and I have a new 12 gauge pump Remington 870 wingmaster LC (light contour). I put about 100 rounds through it two weeks ago, no problems. I took it home, cleaned and lubricated it that day. Today I put another 100 rounds through it shooting trap with a friend. On one of the rounds, I shot the clay and instinctively went to pump and nothing. I couldn't pull it back. The little catch on the side of the trigger gaurd wasn't down and I didn't want to force it. My friend wound up putting a little more muscle into it (Hey it wasn't his) and got it loose. He told me his fathers had that happen to him before but he didn't know why (he shoots a semi-auto).

Has anyone here ever had that happen to them? Can you think of a reason why? Is there something I may be missing when I clean and oil it? Any advice? Oh yeah, I was only shooting light loads (2.75" 7/8 ounce) so it wasn't like I was pounding the gun with 3" magnums, heck I don't think I could handle 100 rounds of that!

Fatcat
September 6, 2001, 11:01 PM
Only time that's happened to me was with some really hot 3" slugs. Action would get really hard to move..

Hmm. :confused:

PreserveFreedom
September 7, 2001, 01:42 AM
Out of curiousity, were the rounds that you were using the Winscheters with the aluminum hulls? I have had several of them swell in my chambers and stick like they were glued in. Unfortunately, it happened on an antique bolt gun and the extractor bent the shell rim instead of yanking it out when I applied added pressure. That forced me to go back to the truck and get a screwdriver to dig them out every time. :(

Dave McC
September 7, 2001, 03:46 AM
It's hard to diagnose w/o the piece in front of me, but...

Use your forward hand to pull the shotgun into your shoulder a little when you mount. This should eliminate/reduce the problem.

DAVID NANCARROW
September 7, 2001, 06:49 AM