PDA

View Full Version : .45 Cal Hollow Points

RedCrosse
May 15, 2000, 07:49 AM
Hello Everyone - Newbie here!

I have a quick question about hollowpoints that hopefully is not too embarrassing :)

I shot a .45 hydra-shok at a scrap piece of 6X6 post, wanting to see what it did.

Upon extracting the bullet, it had travelled 3.5" into the post, but looked almost exactly like it did originally - no expansion or anything.

1) Why didn't the bullet expand the way it does in the commercials?
2) If this bullet went 3.5" through the core of a tree(!) why should I expect it to stop in a body?
Does the answer have anything to do with water - like the name of the product - Hydra making it "shok"?!? The only conclusion that I could reach is that the wood was so dense that it didn't allow any room for expansion. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Tamara
May 15, 2000, 08:20 AM
You answered your own question. No Hydra, no Shok. When the bullet impacted, the cavity in the nose 'cookie-cuttered' a plug of wood, which is non-compressable beyond a certain point and doesn't exhibit much in the way of fluid dynamics. It probably flattened the little post and filled the cavity with a solid plug of compressed wood, transforming your bullet from a Jacketed Hollow Point into a Jacketed Soft Point. Most pistol rounds, especially subsonic ones like the 230gr .45, just don't have the 'wheaties' to deform a soft pointed bullet, so you were left with basically the equivalent of hardball... (softball?)

------------------
"..but never ever Fear. Fear is for the enemy. Fear and Bullets."
10mm: It's not the size of the Dawg in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the dog!

Coinneach
May 15, 2000, 11:21 AM
First, welcome to TFL, RedCrosse.

Second, wood!=flesh. If you really want to see what the HydraShok can do, fire one round at a raw pot roast. It's impressive, to say the least (last time I did it, it left a 9" exit hole).

[This message has been edited by Coinneach (edited May 15, 2000).]