PDA

View Full Version : '58 cylinder

North East Redneck
May 26, 2013, 01:55 AM
I picked up a new cylinder for my 1858 ASM. The cylinder I had was starting to show heavy wear where the hand contacts it for rotation. Received the new cylinder from Numrich the other day, cleaned it up and put it in the frame of the gun. Rotates well, locks up nicely. What I'm seeing is that the hand is already creating a slight groove in its contact area on the cylinder, same wear issue as the old cylinder. So, I ask, what is the fix guys? I turn wrenches for a living, but this small stuff is sometimes out of my comfort zone.
Also, it appears that the leading edge on the cylinder contact points (where the hand pushes it) is getting a bit roughed up. Should I send her to someone who can tune the gun? Or is it a simple fix?
People report that ASM guns have soft internals, is it just worn? Should I replace all the internal parts? It is a 1990 imported by CVA. It is nothing special, but the gun is accurate, I would like to resolve this issue with it.

mykeal
May 26, 2013, 06:36 AM
If the gun was still timed correctly so that the cylinder was locking up in battery, I don't see the issue. You mention heavy wear but don't describe the problem that causes, so I wonder if this is just a cosmetic thing. Wear by itself isn't necessarily a bad thing.

Doc Hoy
May 26, 2013, 08:32 AM
Is it right to say that the Pettifogger articles describe concepts that can be applied to Remingto even though the articles are written for Colts?

IIRC this is the case.

If so, it might be worthwhile for the OP to read them.

Doc Hoy
May 26, 2013, 08:34 AM
The upload message tells me they are there but I sure don't see them.

You can find them easily by Googling Pettifogger tuning the pietta.

Hawg
May 26, 2013, 09:41 AM
I think you're talking about a drag line from the bolt not the hand.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y269/rebel727/Remingtons/remmy.jpg