PDA

View Full Version : 1898 Springfield Krag Worth?

Tin Soldier
June 19, 2011, 08:18 AM
Hello. I am new to the Line. I am frequently on the 1911 and PAFOA Forums.
But this looks like the place to ask questions.

I just bought a Springfield Krag 1898 at an auction. It looks to be a carbine model, made in 1899. Missing the top wood handguard. The bore is excellent, the bolt is nice and tight. No cracks or repairs to the stock. Everything looks to be original. I would like to know what the value would fall under?

And, how could I get that top wooden handguard?

Pics attached.

Thanks

Andy

Tin Soldier
June 19, 2011, 08:21 AM
Two more views of the Krag.

kraigwy
June 19, 2011, 08:24 AM
That's a good looking rifle. I've seen them for abut $400, but I would go as high and $600 for a good one (your's looks good).

I really don't know much about the Krags except I want one for my Vintage US Military Rifle Collection.

To get a better answer to your question go to this CMP forum on Bolt Action Rifles and ask these guys, they wont stir you wrong.

http://forums.thecmp.org/forumdisplay.php?f=79

Tin Soldier
June 19, 2011, 09:12 AM
I wish that you lived closer. You could have it for $500.
I am getting frustrated finding the correct info and finding a handguard
looks like it will be very hard.

Thanks for the info.

Jim Watson
June 19, 2011, 10:17 AM
You probably have what is known as an NRA Carbine.
As I understand it - I am not a collector or historian, just a reader of gun literature...
When the old DCM was selling off surplus Krags through the NRA in the 1920s, the carbines were more popular because they were a handier hunting rifle. Sporterizing of surplus rifles was not common in those days, you used what you could get.
So when the inventory of carbines was about gone but they had plenty of rifles left, Benicia Arsenal cut down many rifles to carbine configuration to promote sales.