PDA

View Full Version : An Interesting Browning

Marc S.
June 12, 2011, 12:18 AM
I am new at this & appreciate your patience. I am a Colt collector, but recently purchased a pistol that surprised me by being here in central Pennsylvania. It is a Fabrique Nationale D'Armmes Deguerre, Herstal, Belgique marked 9mm Hi- Power... but that's not what got my attention. Nor was it the fact that the factory box & 2 mags are still with it. No, it was the serial number: 088. I would REALLY appreciate any info that can be provided, such as year of manufacture and, perhaps, a translation of the stamps? A small lion on a line over a capitalized PV, a crowned oval with the letters E over LG, and a five pointed star over an R Thank you all, in advance.

dogtown tom
June 12, 2011, 12:28 AM
Please post photos

gyvel
June 12, 2011, 07:41 AM
You're not referring to a "Hi-Power 88" that was imported by Howco Distributors back in the 80's are you??

jonnyc
June 12, 2011, 07:56 AM
Older pistols have had lots of time to roam, no telling where they can get to. Pics would really help to nail down the age of your early BHP.

Jim Watson
June 12, 2011, 08:18 AM
A small lion on a line over a capitalized PV,
Belgian nitro proof mark, used since 1903.

a crowned oval with the letters E over LG,
Belgian definitive proof mark, used since 1893.

and a five pointed star over an R
Belgian inspector's mark, used by Wagemans Sylvain 1951-1965 but maybe by others since then.

You get the idea, these are Belgian proof marks seen on all guns made there for a long time and no real help in describing your no 088. As said, show pictures.

Marc S.
June 12, 2011, 09:43 AM