PDA

View Full Version : New forum member...Mosin Nagant

ASUdevil22
January 31, 2010, 09:38 PM
As a new member to the forum I just wanted to say hi...and to share that I just got a Mosin Nagant w/a hex receiver c.1926. Great condition...great price and looking forward to firing off the 7.62x54R for the first time.

mesabi
January 31, 2010, 09:47 PM
Welcome. You should like your Mosin. Great rifle. Don't let anyone say you can't hit anything with it. The White Death would roll over in his grave if he heard that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simo_H%C3%A4yh%C3%A4

stubbicatt
February 1, 2010, 05:54 PM
Fun rifles.

There are a buzzilion threads on how to clean these things to assure that the cosmoline is gone before attempting to shoot them.

RT
February 1, 2010, 06:08 PM
Tell us how your shoulder feels ;)

sonick808
February 1, 2010, 06:08 PM
woohoo! Another Phoenician :) Well, I guess I'm not technically, but, in the valley anyway ;)

I am a mosin-nagant owner also. I LOVE it. I have a '45 izzy M44. 7.62x54R is a FUN cartridge. If you get a chance, grab a size small limbsaver from walmart or a gun shop. Limbsavers make shooting the mosin a lot more fun, and last a lot longer before you quit due to bruising :cool:

Congrats on the rifle, it's fun to just hold and look at isn't it :D

Edit: J&G sales in prescott has awesome prices on 440-round cans of surplus bulgarian light ball ammo in 7.62x54R. a nice scenic drive to prescott and the truly awesome J&G sales is always a good day to spend a vacation day or weekend. come home with 440 rounds for your mosin. hell yeah.

http://www.jgsales.com/product_info.php/ammo-for-rifles/7-62x54r/p/7-62x54r-bulgarian-light-ball-fmj-ammo%2C-steel-case%2C-440-rd-tins-/cPath/12_42/products_id/1789

benroe
February 2, 2010, 05:17 AM
I am also a mosin owner, and I love the gun. It is a real kicker, so either clothe up or buy a recoil pad!! I have found mine to be fairly accurate when shooting from the prone position.

Peptobismol9