PDA

View Full Version : New to Firearms. Advice needed.

anyman1010
May 17, 2008, 11:11 PM
Hello.

I have never owned a "gun" in my life. However I am thinking of keeping a self defense weapon at home. (thought about mace / pepper spray.... :-) )

After some due research on the internet, came to the conclusion that a 12 gauge shotgun.

Slowly pointed to Maverick Security 88 because of cost. Remongton 870 and Mossberg 590 were to expensive for me.

Now folks a few questions:

(These questions may sound very simple but please remember I am a newbie to gun ownership; nobody in my extended family/friends has a gun).

1. How do I buy safely and legally a used Maverick 88?

2. Is it safe to buy a used gun...what hgappens if it has been used in a crime and you as a purchaser did not know about it?

3. Is anybody selling a good 12 gauge in Northern Virginia or Washington DC>

4. Is Maverick 88 a good choice?

5. I want a weapon with the following :

a. Largest capacity of holding shells
b. Most readily and cheaply available ammunition
c. Looks big and threatening
d. Least maintenance
Please suggest some other weapons as well

6. Where can I practice shooting a shotgun in Northern VA?

Gentlemen and Ladies thank you for answering my questions.

Regards,

A Person in NOVA

Crosshair
May 18, 2008, 12:17 AM
First off you would be better off to post this in the general discussion forum. As to help you out. A 12 gauge is a good defensive weapon.

1. How do I buy safely and legally a used Maverick 88?
The easiest way is to go to a gun store and check out their used section.

You can also go to gunbroker.com AuctionArms.com or one of the other online gun auction sites. Guns bought online need to be sent to an FFL where they will complete the 4473 to transfer it to you.