PDA

View Full Version : BP cylinder conversions

dalegribble
August 16, 2007, 05:18 PM
I'm new to BP revolvers but trying to learn. I have an 1851 Navy, 1861 Navy and just arrived an 1858 Remington. I see that there are cylinder conversions available for all these guns to fire cartridges. The Remington is the easiest to swap cylinders and is supposed to be the strongest. The Colts needs to be disassembled to swap cylinders.

I know there are different cylinder conversions available. My question is which if any have a loading gate so I can reload without taking the cylinder out? If I have to take the cylinder out of the remmy like in pale rider it is really no faster than swapping the round ball cylinder. The Colts would be more attractive if a loading gate was available instead of having to disassemble the pistol. If a loading gate version is availabe can it be done without gunsmithing:? Thanks.
BTW it is just great fun owning these pieces of history.

Raider2000
August 16, 2007, 07:02 PM
This is one of the companies that manufactur these cartridge conversion kits for most of your Cap & Ball Revolvers...

http://www.kirstkonverter.com/ruger.html

Unfortunatly they do not make one for a .44 caliber Colt. :(

hunter64
August 16, 2007, 09:11 PM
It has always had me wondering why someone would buy a conversion cylinder for a Black Powder revolver when you could buy another whole replica .45 LC revolver for the same amount. No ugly side mounted ejector rod, but I guess if you wanted a replica of a converted unit maybe but to just shoot I am not so sure.

mykeal
August 17, 2007, 07:14 AM
By Hunter64:
It has always had me wondering why someone would buy a conversion cylinder for a Black Powder revolver when you could buy another whole replica .45 LC revolver for the same amount. No ugly side mounted ejector rod, but I guess if you wanted a replica of a converted unit maybe but to just shoot I am not so sure.