PDA

View Full Version : hand building a rifle.

smenkhare
July 17, 2007, 07:10 AM
could someone please explain to me, a complete noob, what would be involved in constructing (not assembling) a rifle 100% from scratch?
eg what equipment is needed, how to put rifling in the barrel etc.

many thanks in advance
Peter

Jim Watson
July 17, 2007, 08:40 AM
I don't think you could cover that in one book, much less an internet post.

Barrel making is pretty specialized stuff, most custom gunsmiths and small manufacturers buy their barrels instead of making them. But you can study it.

"Bill Webb's Rifle Barrel Making Machine" videos and booklet
Brownells 542-100-000

http://yarchive.net/metal/barrel_rifling.html

http://www.riflebarrels.com/articles/barrel_making.htm

It is a lot easier to build a single shot than a repeater. I don't know of anything on DIY bolt actions or autos except the CNCguns site below.

"Building A Single Shot Rifle Action" by Walter B. Mueller
Brownells 926-000-001

"Mr Single Shot's Book of Rifle Plans" by Frank de Haas.
Brownells 248-101-003

This guy will buy a gun, reverse engineer it, and build his own copy.
http://www.cncguns.com/

This fellow has done a lot of work at the hobby level, not up to whole guns, but a lot of work on existing firearms.
http://www.roderuscustom.tzo.com/

jmorris
July 17, 2007, 10:41 AM