PDA

View Full Version : What should you have while hunting?

nkielborn
February 7, 2007, 02:23 AM
After reading the article about camping and what needs to be brought, I decided to see what people thought should be brought while hunting. I am new to hunting and no one else in my family hunts so I am having to learn it all myself. I started off fishing and then I started thinking about hunting and wanting to try it out.

So my question is what is needed for a single day hunt? I have been told and heard quite a bit from people but after reviewing everything i have been told i realized that if I brought everything i was suppose to i would have a pack that was well over 50lbs.

I know you should have certain basics like firestarters (matches, lighter), maps, water, and food. As wells as having guns, knives, sharpner and extra ammo (which shouldn't be needed but doesnt hurt to have). What else should i make sure I have on the hunt.

If I was so luckly to actually take a Calfornia black tail or mule deer how should I plan to take it out basically what method works best. This is part of the reason I assumed weight to be an issue since I ll be carrying everything out. And hopefully one day in the future I ll get some pigs and black bear what are the best methods to take them out. I have bought some books about hunting but I am always trying to learn more.

dirty habit
February 7, 2007, 02:28 AM
Small first aid kit always goes with me...
that "just in case" has saved my ass a few times now

Desertfox
February 7, 2007, 05:42 AM
Usually the determining factors for me are as follows:

1- How long am I staying out.
2- Weather
3- Terrain (also to include familiarity)
4- What Game

Ok, lets say I am hunting on my lease, all day for whitetail deer. Terrain is relatively flat and familiar.

Weather is a balmy 72 and sunny.

Besides what I am wearing, including head net and gloves-