PDA

View Full Version : how far do typical muzzleloaders go?

gunslinger555
July 26, 2006, 07:11 PM
how far do modern muzzleloaders usually go? im just getting into muzzleloaders and im just curious.

(edit:never mind got the answer to my questions hire http://www.chuckhawks.com/index2h.muzzleloader.htm)

Doubletaptap
July 28, 2006, 01:25 AM
Most regular muzzlers will shoot effectively up to 100 yards with normal loads.
The inlines will reach out there to 200 if prepares properly.
Some of the old muskets used to shoot out 600 yards or more but weren't that accurate. They lobbed the balls in to the target like a cannon.
The best actual accurate range for a safe load is out to about 75yds and most prefer out to 50. That way you don't have to get sore from recoil.
Those inlines with 150 grains will knock you off the bench if you ain't ready for the big bang!!.They'll shoot accurately but hurt at both ends~~~~~!!!
I like 85gr FFG for out to 100 yards with my .54 rifle.
George

skeetabop
July 28, 2006, 07:35 PM
Do yourself a favor and buy a reproduction Civil War gun. I have a Euroarms1858 Enfield 2 band 58 caliber musket rifle. The first deer i shot was at 175 yards and shot it thru the heart. The second deer was running at 125 yards and it dropped with my first shot. Everything you read these days talks about 50 caliber guns and that's fine cause it is the mainstream. But, if you want a REAL deer slayer, get yourself a 58 caliber gun, it will drop a deer up to 200 yards easy. 58 caliber ensures that. I hunted for 20 years with a 12 guage shotgun, I could fire 3 rounds as fast as you can say 3 rounds, but nothing compares to 1 shot out of a 58 caliber gun. 1 shot and they are down, no messing around.

skeetabop
July 28, 2006, 07:50 PM
The max. range of a 58 caliber Civil war gun is around 500 - 600 yards.

Although, they can reach out even farther, depending on the shooter.

July 28, 2006, 11:29 PM