PDA

View Full Version : Newbie wannabe needs info...

ArcherAndShooter
June 27, 2006, 05:00 PM
I'm thinking about getting a muzzleloader for the next gun in my collection, but I'm not certain whether to go all-the-way-primitive to a flintlock or get a cap-gun (not sure what they're really called, sorry).

I know the technical differences and a little of the history of the different rifles, but that's not what I'm looking for.

What I'd like is some comments about what it is like to own, maintain, shoot, and hunt with either or both of these type guns.

Is there a reason to start with one or the other as I get into M/L shooting?
What things should a total newbie to this kind of shooting watch out for?
What mistakes have people made that nearly turned them off of M/L's forever?

What other questions should I be asking?

Thanks in advance.

arcticap
June 27, 2006, 07:22 PM
Everybody has a bias, and mine is that I strongly believe that caplock rifles are the best way to start out muzzle loading.
Caplocks are easier to shoot and maintain for the most part because you don't have to deal with the flint issues, and because the ignition can usually be considered much faster (ahem! :D ), overall accuracy and reliability leads to more shooting satisfaction.
Cleaning a muzzle loader is always a chore that a person has to do after each shooting session. There are new non-corrosive powders but they don't let a person off the hook for very long since they too can absorb moisture if left in the barrel and cause rust to form. Plus, they don't always perform as well as the corrosive powders except in some circumstances.