PDA

View Full Version : just ordered a rem. 870 marine magnum.

torque
February 21, 2006, 08:23 PM
Hello all, this is my first post, so take it easy on me. I just ordered my first shotgun, a remington 870 marine magnum. going to pick it up saturday $500 out the door. After debating over which one for about a month I decided on this one. between the mossberg mariner and the winchester 1300 Since I'm new to the shotgun world, I do have a few noob questions.

1. will this gun shoot any/all 2 3/4 and 3" shells? ie: buckshot/slugs/target without any kind of chokes/adapters?

2. which # of buckshot will have less recoil 00,000,etc.

3. how do the managed recoil shells shoot like? do they really not kick as hard?

4. What kind of recoil will I be looking foward to with this gun, since it has the r3 recoil pad on it? the biggest shotgun I've shot before was a 410, and it had no kick to me at all, about like a .22. I used to have a desert eagle .50 pistol, and to me, a .45 kicked harder than that did.

Dfariswheel
February 21, 2006, 11:35 PM
In order:
1. Your new Magnum Marine will shoot any 12 gauge ammo of 3" or less.
The choke is either Open Cylinder (no choke at all) or it's an Improved Cylinder, which Remington has recently started using on the Express and Magnum Marine models.

Either one of these chokes is about ideal for short barreled shotguns used for buckshot or slugs.

You can shoot ANY standard birdshot, buckshot, or slug through your gun.
The sabot type slugs CAN be fired, but since they're made for rifled shotguns, accuracy won't be very good.

2. Recoil is a matter of shot WEIGHT, and powder charge.
If you shoot a standard load of 00 buckshot, it will have about the same recoil as 000, 1, or 4, since they all have about the same weight of shot.

In other words, if the shot load weights 1 1/8oz, it doesn't matter if it's #9 birdshot, 00 buckshot, or a solid slug.